Singapore Standard Time


We need to have a common time reference so that we can co-ordinate our activities accordingly. In schools, homes and offices, we need clocks to start our day at the right time. Similarly even at airports, flights need to take off at the right time to reach different destinations and each flight is scheduled to leave at an appointed time so there would be no confusion. The Singapore Standard Time is 8 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+8) and Singapore is not on Daylight-Saving Time.

The Singapore Standard Time (SST) is the same as Australian Western Standard time, Malaysian Standard Time, Chinese Standard Time and Hong Kong Time. It is obtained by offsetting +8 hours from Coordinated Universal time (UTC). So, adding eight hours to the UTC is the Singapore Standard Time.

Lets take a look at some examples:
Singapore 12:00 pm = Argentina (Buenos Aires) 1:00 am
Singapore 10:00 am = Russia (Moscow City) 6:00 am
Singapore 1:00 pm = United Kingdom 6:00 am
Singapore 6:00 am = France 12:00 am
Singapore 6:00 pm = India 3:30 pm
Singapore 8:00 pm = United States (New York) 8:00 am Singapore 9:00 am = Canada (Ontario) 9:00 pm
Singapore 1:00 pm = Australia Capital Territory 3:00 pm

Related Links
  • Airlines
  • Getting Settled
  • Postal Service
  • Airfare
  • Geography
  • PMO & Ministries
  • Art
  • Government
  • Population
  • Banks and Financial institutions
  • History
  • Photo Gallery
  • Basic Facts
  • Holidays
  • Real Estate
  • Borders
  • Hospitals
  • Restaurants
  • Business
  • Hotels
  • Religions
  • Care Services
  • Interior Designers
  • Road Rules
  • Car Rental
  • Immigration
  • Seismic Activities
  • China Town
  • Industries
  • Singapore and Malaysian Relation
  • Communities
  • IT Solutions
  • Shops
  • Community Groups
  • Jobs
  • Shopping
  • Cruise
  • Jurong Bird Park
  • Standard Time
  • Climate
  • Languages Spoken
  • Social Organizations
  • Cost of Living
  • Law
  • Sports
  • Courts
  • Literature
  • Supreme Court
  • Custom Services
  • Location
  • Stock Exchange
  • Demography
  • Map
  • Telecommunication
  • Driving
  • Museums
  • Tour Packages
  • Eco Tourism
  • National Anthem
  • Tourism Board
  • Economy
  • National Flag
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Education
  • National Parade Day
  • Trade Development
  • Environment
  • National Symbols
  • Travel Deals
  • Ethnic Groups
  • News and Media
  • Travel Etiquette
  • Exchange Rates
  • Parks and Gardens
  • Transport Services
  • Expressways
  • People and Culture
  • Video Gallery
  • Fashion
  • Pets
  • Wedding
  • Flights
  • Wedding Favors



  • Disclaimer: The data provided here is based on the facts and research using available sources. As the data is made available on "as is" basis and subject to change anytime. This website shall not be liable for any discrepancy found in the data on our site and actual figures.